January 2021

2021 Lanzarote Olympic Winter Regatta

After 135 sailors across the 470 Men and Women, 49er, 49erFX, Finn, and Nacra 17 classes competed January 16-24 at 2021 Lanzarote Olympic Winter Regatta, the singlehanded ILCA 7 and ILCA 6 events raced on January 25-28 in the Canary Islands, Spain.

In the men’s 31-boat ILCA 7 fleet, Jean-Baptiste Bernaz (FRA) finished 13 points ahead of Robert Scheidt (BRA), while Anne Marie Rindom (DEN) dominated the women’s 40-boat ILCA 6 fleet, winning 7 of 11 races to finish with a 25 point margin over Maria Erdi (HUN).

The 470 Men and Women, 49er, and 49erFX classes completed a full 13-day series of racing before embarking on their Medal Races, with the Finns completing six races and Nacra 17s completing seven races ahead of their Medal Races.

The Finn class saw the largest fleet, with 23 sailors competing. Recently-crowned 2020 eSailing World Champion Joan Cardona (ESP), who came third at the 2020 Finn European Championship, beat the 2020 European champion, and SSL Gold Cup team Hungary Captain, Zsombor Berecz (HUN) to the title this time. Alican Kaynar (TUR), captain of SSL Team Turkey took the bronze medal.

There was strong competition in the skiffs, with both the 49er and 49er attracting some of the best Olympic class sailors. The 14 boats of the 49erFX fleet were topped by reigning Olympic champions Martine Grael and Kahena Kunze (BRA) who claimed gold by 10 points. Annemiek Bekkering and Annette Duetz (NED) finished second, with Aleksandra Melzacka and Kinga Loboda (POL) in third. In a 49er fleet of eight boats, Croatian brothers Sime and Mihovil Fantela edged out close competition from Sebastian Schneiter and Lucien Cujean (SUI) and Bart Lambriex and Pim van Vugt (NED) to take the title.

Jordi Xammar and Nicolás Rodríguez (ESP) triumphed in the 11-boat 470 Men’s fleet ahead of Olympic rivals Anton Dahlberg and Fredrik Bergström (SWE), with Simon Diesch and Philipp Autenrieth (GER) in third. Heading the 12 boats in the 470 Women’s fleet were Silvia Mas and Patricia Cantero (ESP), with Hannah Mills and Eilidh McIntyre (GBR) in second and Noya Bar-Am and Shahar Tibi (ISR) in third.

Finally, it was Danish duo Lin Ea Cenholt and CP Lübeck who claimed victory in a Nacra 17 fleet of 10 boats. Paul Kohlhoff and Alica Stuhlemmer (GER) took the silver medal, with Emil Järudd and Cecilia Jonsson (SWE) winning bronze.

The Lanzarote Olympic Winter Regatta is organised by Canary Island Federation, Real Club Náutico Arrecife and Marina Rubicon. This event offers amazing conditions in two different venues in Lanzarote island (Arrecife in the North) and Marina Rubicón (in the South).

For full results click here .

Rachele Vitello

SSL Press Officer since 2015